Dave Mustaine Furious At RoadRunner Records

Megadeth main man and all around legend Dave Mustaine (Hell yeah I’m a fanboy) is not very happy at RoudRunner right now, and thats putting it lightly.

Through the official Megadeth.com forums, Dave posted this:

Unbelievable

Droogies!
I don’t know what to say.
How a record company could be presented with a Worldwide critically acclaimed record, and that they can let it plummet down the charts in just four weeks into the hundreds, is inexplicable.
I knew I shouldn’t have done this. Why didn’t I trust myself?
I regret a lot of things in my life, but this is the most regretable. 
A very disgusted Megaman. ”

he then followed it up with this:

Lydverket interview

Droogies!
These people are scum.
Don’t listen to their interviews, don’t buy their shit magazine, don’t go to their pathetic garbage website.
And stand by because as soon as i see that interviewer again, i am going to put him in a hospital.
That is a promise. I will find him too.
Again, set up by Roadrunner and left hanging by the label.
Too bad the promo person was not there like i asked so this shit wouldn’t happen.
Thanks for nothing RR,
Grrrrrr!”

The second is also in relation to the following interview with Norway’s Lydverket magazine. Before the interview, the Norwegian reported was told that Metallica was a forbidden subject… The interview follows:

On getting kicked out of METALLICA for allegedly drinking too much:

Mustaine: “I was so hurt by the way that happened. I said, What?! No second chance, no warning? C’mon, we all drink. C’mon.’ And [they were like], ‘No, that’s it. You’re gone.’ And I was like, ‘Alright.'”

On the altercation with METALLICA frontman James Hetfield that led to Mustaine being fired from the band:

Mustaine: “He kicked my dog.

“I was selling pot. When I would go play in concert, people knew that my pot was sitting in my apartment just saying, ‘Go ahead and keep me company.’ So I was broken in on. People stole everything that I had; all my stash. And I figured, screw this. I’m gonna get some dogs to stay in the apartment when I leave. So I got two dogs and I took one of them up to a rehearsal one time and she put her paws up on Ron’s [McGovney, METALLICA’s then-bassist] car. And James kicked it right in the side. And I was like, ‘What did you do?’ [And I was like] ‘It’s a dog, it’s what they do. You don’t kick animals.’ So we went into the house, and we started arguing some more. And I ended up punching him in the face and I think that was the root of why I lost my job.

“I hated that. I didn’t wanna hit him. I cared a lot about James; I really liked him. I still like him. I don’t like Lars [Ulrich, METALLICA drummer], but I like James.”

On being invited to attend METALLICA’s Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame induction in April, but not to get inducted along with his former bandmates:

Mustaine: “I think someone would have to be a complete fool to think I was gonna go there and sit in the audience and watch them be inducted into the Hall Of Fame. It was nice that Lars that invited me, but any of the public that thinks I was gonna go… But what are you — stupid?! I’m proud of them, I wish them well, but what do I have to do?! That’s masochism.”

On his state of mind in 2009:

Mustaine: “When I became a Christian, everyone thought that I was gonna become a pussy. Now, evidently, it backfired.

“Lately, I started really getting into trying to better myself — really, really digging into my past and working with counselors and therapists to really try and free myself of the stuff that holds me back as an artist so that I can be a better artist and an entertainer.”

“Honestly, this is one on my finest hours, because spiritually I am at peace so much. I have no problems with anybody. What good is it gonna do for me to sit there and piss and moan about how much excess there was in my life?! There was, there ain’t anymore.”

So as you can see, the reporter clearly broke the rule, so Dave is justified in his anger at Lydverket.

Thanks to Blabbermouth,net for the interview

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment